Academic Calendar

Date of attendance, examinations and vacations across the academic year.

The next key date is
05 August
University Closed

Academic year 2020 / 2021

There are 26 events that you should be aware of in Academic year 2020 / 2021

Semester 1 - Autumn

Dates
Event Date Notes
Teaching begins Monday 21 September 2020
Teaching ends Friday 11 December 2020
Christmas Vacation begins Monday 14 December 2020
Christmas Friday 25 December 2020

University Closed (Christmas)

Christmas Vacation ends Friday 1 January 2021
Examination Period Tuesday 5 January 2021

No formal exams, these will be replaced by online/alternative assessment

Autumn Semester Ends Friday 22 January 2021

Semester 2 - Spring

Dates
Event Date Notes
Spring semester begins Monday 25 January 2021

Teaching begins

Last date for meetings of Course/Subject Committees Friday 5 February 2021

Last date for meetings of Course/Subject Committees (Semester One Progress review)

St Patrick's Day Wednesday 17 March 2021
Easter vacation begins Monday 29 March 2021
University Closed Monday 5 April 2021
Easter Vacation Ends Friday 9 April 2021
University Closed (May Day) Monday 3 May 2021
Revision week (non-teaching) Tuesday 4 May 2021
Examination Period Monday 10 May 2021

With possible extension to 25 May if required.

Visit the exams area for further information on exams.

Spring semester ends Friday 28 May 2021
Last date for meetings of Boards of Examiners Thursday 10 June 2021
Summer Graduations Thursday 8 July 2021

Go to the Graduation site for more information.

University Closed Thursday 5 August 2021

Resit Period

Dates
Event Date Notes
Examination Resit Period Wednesday 11 August 2021
Meetings of Boards of Examiners Monday 23 August 2021

Semester 3 - Summer

Courses requiring a full semester of study (60 credit points) will use the whole summer period between the Spring and Autumn semesters.

Dates
Event Date Notes
Teaching begins Monday 19 July 2021
Examination period Monday 30 August 2021
Summer Semester ends Friday 10 September 2021
Meetings of Boards of Examiners Sunday 12 September 2021

Find out more about: