School of Biomedical Sciences

The School of Biomedical Sciences has a national and international reputation for excellence in teaching and research and offers a range of healthcare, scientific and technical professions undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.


Our People

Filter School of Biomedical Sciences staff by campus:

All campusesColeraineJordanstownMageeundefined

Caroline Adams

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1070

+44 28 7012 4163

c.adams@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Philip Allsopp

Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2067

+44 28 7012 3125

pj.allsopp@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Atkinson

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Vision)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5664

s.atkinson@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Ibrahim Banat

Professor of Microbial Biotechnology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0068

+44 28 7012 3062

im.banat@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Ciara Bannon

Technical Services Co-ordinator (Biomedical Sciences)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0087

+44 28 7012 3334

cd.bannon@ulster.ac.uk

Alison Beckwith

Support Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1100

+44 28 7012 4944

ar.beckwith@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Raymond Beirne

Lecturer in Optometry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G161

+44 28 7012 4477

r.beirne@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Per-Olof Berggren

Professor of Molecular and Cellular Endocrinology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

y.berggren@ulster.ac.uk

Rhonda Black

Technician (Biomedical Science)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1023

+44 28 7012 4215

r.black@ulster.ac.uk

Shelley Black

Research Associate in Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G168

+44 28 7012 3211

sa.black@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Karen Breslin

Lecturer in Optometry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G170

+44 28 7012 4235

kmm.breslin@ulster.ac.uk

Aoife Caffrey

Research Associate in Nutrition and Ageing Brain (VALID Project)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2028

+44 28 7012 3401

a.caffrey@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Valeria Cenini

Research Associate in Bioimaging

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0044

+44 28 7012 3074

v.cenini@ulster.ac.uk

Sarah Chestnutt

Clerical Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1097

+44 28 7012 3134

s.chestnutt@ulster.ac.uk

Arnold Cochrane

Lecturer in Optometry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G154

+44 28 7012 3034

ajs.cochrane@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Breedge Conwell

Research Associate GlaucoMirs

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

b.conwell@ulster.ac.uk

Eamonn Cooper

Research Associate – Data Analytics

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5393

e.cooper@ulster.ac.uk

Sarah Craig

Research Associate in Diabetes

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

s.craig@ulster.ac.uk

Darren Crawford

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

d.crawford@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Felicity Currie

Research Associate in Microbial Biotechnology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0079

+44 28 7012 3598

f.currie@ulster.ac.uk

Gillian Cushnahan

Clerical Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1097

+44 28 7012 4181

g.cushnahan@ulster.ac.uk

Glenn Dalton

Technician (BBRU)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G013B

+44 28 7012 4757

g.dalton@ulster.ac.uk

Alison Deehan

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2096

+44 28 7012 3039

ak.deehan@ulster.ac.uk

Pauline Douglas

Senior Lecturer/Clinical Dietetics Facilitator

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2072

+44 28 7012 3179

pl.douglas@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Le Roy Dowey

Business Development Manager

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0088

+44 28 7012 4469

lc.dowey@ulster.ac.uk

Lesley Doyle

Research Associate in Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G168

+44 28 7012 3995

la.doyle@ulster.ac.uk

Evie Drennan

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1100

+44 28 7012 3625

e.drennan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr William Duddy

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Bioinformatics)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5686

w.duddy@ulster.ac.uk

Rob Duff

Technician (Faculty Stores)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G045

+44 28 7012 4466

rwm.duff@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Stephanie Duguez

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Musculoskeletal Health)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5687

s.duguez@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Philip Egan

Research Associate in Immunology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

p.egan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Andrew English

Research Associate in Biomarkers for Personalised Medicines

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5890

a.english@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Peter Flatt

Research Director- Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1069

+44 28 7012 4419

pr.flatt@ulster.ac.uk

Amanda Fleming

Clerical Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G092E

+44 28 7012 3480

ad.fleming@ulster.ac.uk

James Forsythe

Technical Services Co-ordinator (BBRU)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G013

+44 28 7012 3010

jtf.forsythe@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Santosh Gaihre

Research Associate in Nutrition and Health

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2042

+44 28 7012 3340

s.gaihre@ulster.ac.uk

Lyndsey George

School Officer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1101

+44 28 7012 4204

lj.george@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Chris Gill

Senior Lecturer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2095

+44 28 7012 3181

c.gill@ulster.ac.uk

Professor William Gilmore

Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

Deborah Grant

Clerical Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1097

+44 28 7012 3247

d.grant@ulster.ac.uk

Tamsyn Harris

Research Associate in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

t.redpath@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Helen Harty

Lecturer in Physician Associate Education

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1016

+44 28 7012 4014

h.harty@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alyson Hill

Senior Lecturer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2071

+44 28 7012 4128

aj.hill@ulster.ac.uk

Valerie Hinch

Teaching Fellow

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1023

+44 28 7012 4263

v.hinch@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Leane Hoey

Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2044

+44 28 7012 4781

l.hoey@ulster.ac.uk

Jill Holmes

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

j.holmes@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Hughes

Lecturer in Public Health Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2032

+44 28 7012 3516

c.hughes@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Rachelle Irwin

Lecturer in Genomic Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1039

+44 28 7012 4674

r.irwin@ulster.ac.uk

Rachel Keane

Research Assistant Genetic Factors in Ageing

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

+44 28 7012 3527

r.keane@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Maeve Kerr

Lecturer in Food Regulatory Affairs

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2030

+44 28 7012 3515

ma.kerr@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mohammed Khan

Research Associate –Biomarkers (Personalised Medicine for Glaucoma)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

mn.khan@ulster.ac.uk

Dawood Khan

Research Associate in Diabetes

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7012 3714

d.khan@ulster.ac.uk

Natalie Klempel

Research Associate - Immunology in C-TRIC

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

n.klempel@ulster.ac.uk

Ryan Lafferty

Research Associate in Diabetes

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

r.lafferty@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Carel Le Roux

Professor of Metabolic Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

c.le_roux@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Julie-Anne Little

Associate Research Director - School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G159

+44 28 7012 4374

ja.little@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Caomhan Logue

Lecturer in Dietetics

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2064

+44 28 7012 4451

c.logue@ulster.ac.uk

Ingrid Love

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

i.love@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Colm Lowery

Lecturer in Medical Microbiology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

J101

+44 28 7012 3528

cj.lowery@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Pamela Magee

Senior Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2048

+44 28 7012 4360

pj.magee@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Manktelow

Research Associate (HealthCare Process Engineer)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5221

m.manktelow@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Roger Marchant

Professor of Microbial Biotechnology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1017

+44 28 7012 4450

r.marchant@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Chloe Martin

Research Associate - Childhood Leukaemia

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5275

ca.martin@ulster.ac.uk

Jason Martin

Laboratory Assistant (Biomedical Sciences)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0093

+44 28 7012 4993

jj.martin@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Kyle Matchett

Lecturer in Molecular Immunology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5274

k.matchett@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Roisin McAllister

Research Associate in Personalised Medicine (Molecular Biology/Clinical)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5318

rm.mcallister@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Liadhan McAnena

Regulatory Research Officer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2034

+44 28 7012 3398

l.mcanena@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Stephen McClean

Head of School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1104

+44 28 7012 4406

s.mcclean@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Paula McClean

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Diabetes and Mental Health)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5675

pl.mcclean@ulster.ac.uk

Emma McConnell

Research Associate in Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G168

+44 28 7012 3650

e.mcconnell@ulster.ac.uk

Darren McDaid

Research Associate - Data Analyst (Genomics)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5265

d.mcdaid@ulster.ac.uk

Kilian McDaid

Administrative Co-ordinator

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1098

+44 28 7012 3262

ke.mcdaid@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Adele McElroy

Research Associate in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2038

+44 28 7012 3256

a.boyd@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Victoria McGilligan

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Inflammatory Disease)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5673

v.mcgilligan@ulster.ac.uk

Yvonne McKay

Clerical Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1097

+44 28 7012 3261

yf.mckay@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Declan McKenna

Associate Head of School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1043

+44 28 7012 4356

dj.mckenna@ulster.ac.uk

Margaret McLafferty

Research Associate in Mental Health

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5380

m.mclafferty@ulster.ac.uk

Joseph McLaughlin

Research Associate – Molecular Biology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

j.mclaughlin@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Helene McNulty

Professor of Nutritional Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2097

+44 28 7012 4583

h.mcnulty@ulster.ac.uk

Daniel McShane

Technician (Microbiology)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0090

+44 28 7012 3209

d.mcshane@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Emeir McSorley

Senior Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2046

+44 28 7012 3543

em.mcsorley@ulster.ac.uk

Gerard Meehan

Research Assistant in Engineering

School of Biomedical Sciences

Jordanstown

gj.meehan@ulster.ac.uk

Daniel Meehan

Lecturer in Physician Associate Education

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1018

+44 28 7012 4064

d.meehan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Charlotte Moffett

Lecturer in Pharmacology and Molecular Pathology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1068

+44 28 7012 4313

cr.moffett@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Tara Moore

Professor of Personalised Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0056

+44 28 7012 4577

tara.moore@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Maria Mulhern

Lecturer in Food Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2026

+44 28 7012 3539

m.mulhern@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Elaine Murray

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Mental Health)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5667

e.murray@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Patrick Naughton

Senior Lecturer in Medical Microbiology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0078

+44 28 7012 4689

pj.naughton@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Nesbit

Senior Lecturer in Molecular Biology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1088

+44 28 7012 4957

a.nesbit@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Finbarr O'Harte

Professor of Endocrinology & Metabolism

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1085

+44 28 7012 4853

fpm.oharte@ulster.ac.uk

Gareth Orr

Technician - Biomolecular Analysis

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0045

+44 28 7012 3153

g.orr2@ulster.ac.uk

Brenda Plummer

Administrative Co-ordinator - Stratified Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5662

bl.plummer@ulster.ac.uk

Esther Porter

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

e.porter@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Kirsty Pourshahidi

Teaching Fellow in Food Science and Technology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2047

+44 28 7012 4030

k.pourshahidi@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Price

Clinical Trials Manager

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W3016B

+44 28 7012 3878

rk.price@ulster.ac.uk

Michael Purcell

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

m.purcell@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Taranjit Singh Rai

Lecturer in Cellular Ageing

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5459

t.rai@ulster.ac.uk

Robert Rainey

Technical Services Co-ordinator (Optometry and Asset Control)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

I106

+44 28 7012 4504

r.rainey@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sumantra Ray

Professor of Global Nutrition (Health and Disease)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

s.ray@ulster.ac.uk

Patrick Richardson

Lecturer Optometry Clinic Manager

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G092A

+44 28 7012 4739

p.richardson@ulster.ac.uk

Olivier Riche

Business Process Developer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0096

+44 28 7012 3205

o.riche@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Louise Robertson

Research Associate in Ocular Disease

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1037

+44 28 7012 3478

l.robertson@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Patrick Rorsman

Professor of Cellular and Experimental Diabetes

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

p.rorsman@ulster.ac.uk

Steve Sager

Senior Lecturer in Physician Associate Studies

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1018

+44 28 7012 3032

s.sager@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Kathryn Saunders

Professor of Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G151

+44 28 7012 4433

kj.saunders@ulster.ac.uk

Tonina Sechi

Technician - Stratified Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5680

t.sechi@ulster.ac.uk

Sharon Shirley

Administrative Co-ordinator

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1055

+44 28 7012 4805

s.shirley@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Priyank Shukla

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Bioinformatics)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5690

p.shukla@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Poonam Singh - Nee Nigam

Senior Lecturer in Biotechnology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0074

+44 28 7012 4053

p.singh@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mary Slevin

Research Associate in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2066

+44 28 7012 3041

mm.slevin@ulster.ac.uk

Kay Smyth

Laboratory Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2089

+44 28 7012 3257

k.smyth@ulster.ac.uk

Andrew Spence

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

a.spence@ulster.ac.uk

Leona Spence

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

le.spence@ulster.ac.uk

Christine Stewart

Administrative Co-ordinator (CPM Project)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5049

c.stewart1@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Sean Strain

Professor of Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2044

+44 28 7012 4795

jj.strain@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Andrei Tarasov

Senior Lecturer in Cellular and Experimental Diabetes

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1084

+44 28 7012 3264

a.tarasov@ulster.ac.uk

Keith Thomas

Scientific Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0090

+44 28 7012 3883

kg.thomas@ulster.ac.uk

Peter Thompson

Technician (Optometry)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G086

+44 28 7012 3135

p.thompson1@ulster.ac.uk

David Thompson

Technician (Faculty Stores)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G045

+44 28 7012 4486

dj.thompson@ulster.ac.uk

Prof David Thurnham

Emeritus Professor Of Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2096

+44 28 7012 3039

di.thurnham@ulster.ac.uk

Sara-Jayne Thursby

Research Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

s.thursby@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Twigg

Research Associate - Sophorolipids and Tumour Models

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0079

+44 28 7012 3097

m.twigg@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Mary Ward

Professor of Nutrition and Dietetics

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2016

+44 28 7012 3076

mw.ward@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Steven Watterson

Lecturer in Computational Biology (Hypertension)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5665

s.watterson@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Michael Williams

Casual hourly paid Teaching Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

m.williams@ulster.ac.uk

Robert Wright

Technician (BBRU)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G012

+44 28 7012 3881

rr.wright@ulster.ac.uk

Lisa Wright

Technician (Faculty Stores)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G045

+44 28 7012 4476

l.wright2@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Guoliang Xu

Professor of Epigenetics

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

g.xu@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alison Yeates

Research Fellow in Nutritional Biochemistry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2047

+44 28 7012 3147

a.yeates@ulster.ac.uk