Skip to navigation Skip to content

Find department or staff

School of Engineering

The School of Engineering at Ulster University specialises in a broad multi-disciplinary approach to Engineering in order to solve industrial problems.


Our People

Professor James McLaughlin

Head of School of Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B16

+44 28 9036 8933

  jad.mclaughlin@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Behzad Abdi

Research Associate - Development of numerical process simulationsfor additive manufacturing

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  b.abdi@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Acheson

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

22A08

+44 28 9036 8663

  j.acheson@ulster.ac.uk

Allison Allen

Clerical Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 8267

  a.allen@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Edward Archer

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B18

+44 28 9036 6992

  e.archer@ulster.ac.uk

Pearl Bartley

Support Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 6435

  p.bartley@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Paul Beaney

Project Manager (ECME)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

26A27

+44 28 9036 8903

  p.beaney@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Nikhil Bhalla

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B13

+44 28 9536 7145

  n.bhalla@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Gourav Bhattacharya

Research Associate in Flexible Electronics

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  g.bhattacharya@ulster.ac.uk

Pardis Biglarbeigi

Lecturer in Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  p.biglarbeigi@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Santosh Bikkarolla

Research Associate in Microfluidic Device

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  sk.bikkarolla@ulster.ac.uk

Ann Blair

Project Officer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A01

+44 28 9036 8664

  a.blair@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Adrian Boyd

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B14

+44 28 9036 8924

  ar.boyd@ulster.ac.uk

David Branagh

Centre Director - NI Connected Health Innovation Competence Centre

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9036 8291

  d.branagh@ulster.ac.uk

Roy Brelsford

Technical Services Co-ordinator

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C31

+44 28 9036 6337

  r.brelsford@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alan Brown

Lecturer in Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B14

+44 28 9036 8814

  a.brown@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Paul Brunet

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  p.brunet@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Simon Bubb

Research Associate - Engineer in Additive Manufacturing

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  sl.bubb@ulster.ac.uk

Dr George Burke

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A19

+44 28 9036 8081

  g.burke@ulster.ac.uk

Professor John Byrne

Professor of Photocatalysis

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B10

+44 28 9036 8941

  j.byrne@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Supriya Chakrabarti

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F12

+44 28 9536 7296

Dr Ming-Wei Chang

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B14

+44 28 9536 7142

  m.chang@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Adnan Ahmad Cheema

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B16

+44 28 9036 6364

  a.cheema@ulster.ac.uk

Stuart Christy

Technical Services Engineer (Electronics & Computing)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C53

+44 28 9036 6325

  s.christy@ulster.ac.uk

Maria Cortes

Project Engineer AVX

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  ma.cortes@ulster.ac.uk

Rachel Craig

Clerical Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 6275

  r.craig@ulster.ac.uk

Graeme Craig

Technician (Workshop)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C04

+44 28 9036 8286

  gp.craig@ulster.ac.uk

Patrick Cullen

Business Integration Manager

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9536 7306

  p.cullen1@ulster.ac.uk

Monali Dahale

Marie Curie Fellow (Early Career Researcher)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  m.dahale@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Dorian Dixon

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B08

+44 28 9036 6153

  d.dixon@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Dooher

Research Associate in Polymer Composites

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

+44 28 9036 8498

  t.dooher@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Patrick Dunlop

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A20

+44 28 9036 8942

  psm.dunlop@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Omar Escalona

Professor & Director of the Advanced Cardiovascular Research Centre

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 6151

  oj.escalona@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Amir Farokh Payam

Lecturer in Electronics and Software

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B15

+44 28 9036 6406

  a.farokh-payam@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Pilar Fernandez-Ibanez

Lecturer in Engineering Science

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B12

+44 28 9036 8979

  p.fernandez@ulster.ac.uk

Robert Finlay

Technician (Workshop)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C01

+44 28 9036 6213

  rg.finlay@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Dewar Finlay

Research Director- Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B06

+44 28 9036 6586

  d.finlay@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sam Fishlock

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  s.fishlock@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Abhijit Ganguly

Research Associate in Multifunctional Hierarchical Composites

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  a.ganguly@ulster.ac.uk

Gillian Gregg

School Administrative Officer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 6449

  g.gregg@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jeremy Hamilton

Research Fellow

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B04

+44 28 9036 8498

  jwj.hamilton@ulster.ac.uk

Atta Haq

Research Associate - Emergent Nanomaterials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

22B05

+44 28 9036 8393

  au.haq@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Eileen Harkin-Jones

Bombardier-Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Composites Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B04B

+44 28 9036 6012

  e.harkin-jones@ulster.ac.uk

Dawn Hetherington

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F01

+44 28 9036 6036

  d.hetherington@ulster.ac.uk

Simon Hodge

Technician (ECRE/NIACE)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C31

+44 28 9036 6216

  sj.hodge@ulster.ac.uk

Ruth Holman

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A01

+44 28 9036 6927

  r.holman@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Shahzad Hussain

Research Associate - Surface Science

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  s.hussain@ulster.ac.uk

Ghalib Janjua

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

+44 28 9036 8433

  g.janjua@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Swati Jindal

Research Associate - Design and Development of novel 3D printed Medical Devices and Implants

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05D12

+44 28 9536 7143

  s.jindal@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Min Jing

Research Associate - Data Scientist

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  m.jing@ulster.ac.uk

Dr John Kelly

Technical Services Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C17

+44 28 9036 6933

  j.kelly@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Colin Kelsey

Research Associate - Design Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  c.kelsey@ulster.ac.uk

Brian Kirch

Technician (General)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C06

+44 28 9536 7280

  b.kirch@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Helen Lubarsky

Research Associate - Water Treatment

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  h.lubarsky@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Gennady Lubarsky

CHIC Research Fellow (Electronic & Computing Engineering)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 8433

  g.lubarsky@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Chiranjeevi Maddi

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  c.maddi@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Paul Maguire

Professor of Plasmas and Nanofabrication

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B13

+44 28 9036 8930

  pd.maguire@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Elena Mancuso

Lecturer in Biomaterials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B12

+44 28 9036 6408

  e.mancuso@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Davide Mariotti

Professor of Plasma Science & Nanoscale Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B09

+44 28 9036 6083

  d.mariotti@ulster.ac.uk

Emma Marlow

Research Associate in Biosensing Technologies

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  e.marlow@ulster.ac.uk

Myles Patrick McAlynn

Project Engineer - AVX

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  mp.mcalynn@ulster.ac.uk

Paul McCallum

Technician (Stores)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C03

+44 28 9036 6332

  p.mccallum@ulster.ac.uk

Tracey McCarron

Support Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B08A

+44 28 9036 6128

  t.mccarron@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Aaron McConville

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F09

+44 28 9036 6823

  a.mcconville@ulster.ac.uk

Conor McCurdy

KTP Associate - MOS Cleland Ltd

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  c.mccurdy@ulster.ac.uk

Damien McDonald

Technical Services Engineer (Electronics & Computing)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A05

+44 28 9036 8996

  d.mcdonald@ulster.ac.uk

Ruairi McGlynn

Research Assistant in Carbon Nanotube Sensors

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  r.mcglynn@ulster.ac.uk

Brian McGrath

Engineering Facilities Co-ordinator

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A16

+44 28 9036 8944

  b.mcgrath@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Alistair McIlhagger

Professor of Advanced Materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B08B

+44 28 9036 6670

  a.mcilhagger@ulster.ac.uk

Wesley McKnight

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F10

+44 28 9036 6284

  w.mcknight@ulster.ac.uk

Garry McLaughlin

Research Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  g.mclaughlin1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sara McNamee

Research Associate in Biosensing Technologies

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 8433

  se.mcnamee@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Harold McQuaid

Research Associate - Plasmas & Microfabrication

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B04

+44 28 9036 6522

  h.mcquaid@ulster.ac.uk

Patrick McShane

Technical Services Co-ordinator

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C53

+44 28 9036 6207

  p.mcshane@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mozaffar Mokhtarimotamenishirvan

Research Associate - Processing and Characterisation

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  m.mokhtari@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alessio Morelli

Project Engineer AVX

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  a.morelli@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Margaret Morgan

Senior Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B17

+44 28 9036 8211

  m.morgan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mary Morton

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

442890368859

  mj.morton@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Cesar Navarro-Paredes

Research Associate - Computing Scientist

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 8433

  c.navarro@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mark Ng

Lecturer in Mechatronics Engineering and Control

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9036 6105

  mark.ng@ulster.ac.uk

Pearse O'Gorman

Lecturer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B14

+44 28 9036 8327

  pd.ogorman@ulster.ac.uk

Dilli Padmanaban

Research Associate- Plasmas processes and advanced materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  db.padmanaban@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Pagona Papakonstantinou

Professor of Advanced Materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B11

+44 28 9036 8932

  p.papakonstantinou@ulster.ac.uk

Peter Peacock

Technician (Electrical, Electronic & Control)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C35

+44 28 9036 6327

  pw.peacock@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Natalia Pichel Mira

Project Engineer in Computing

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  n.pichel-mira@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Patrick Porter

Technical Planning & Development Manager

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F07

+44 28 9036 6328

  p.porter@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Srinivasu Puttaswamy

Research Fellow - Microfluidic Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  s.puttaswamy@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Ardavan Rahimian

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  a.rahimian@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Enayetur Rahman

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

+44 28 9036 8433

  e.rahman@ulster.ac.uk

Shasidran Raj

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  s.raj@ulster.ac.uk

Calvin Ralph

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B09

+44 28 9036 8762

  c.ralph@ulster.ac.uk

Simon Reford

Technical Services Co-ordinator (Mechanical)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C29A

+44 28 9036 8285

  s.reford@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Krzysztof Rodzen

Research Associate - Processing and Characterisation of Thermoplastic Polymers

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  kp.rodzen@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sharat Sharatchandra Varma

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering and Embedded Systems

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B10

+44 28 9036 6190

  s.bogaraju@ulster.ac.uk

Preetam Sharma

Research Associate - Photoelectrolytic Treatment of Water

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  pk.sharma@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Navneet Soin

Lecturer in Healthcare Electronics

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  n.soin@ulster.ac.uk

Stewart Stinson

Technician (Electrical Machines)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C53

+44 28 9536 7242

  s.stinson@ulster.ac.uk

Alvaro Tolosana

Research Associate PANIWATER

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

  a.tolosana@ulster.ac.uk

Andrew Toye

Support Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A01

+44 28 9036 8058

  a.toye@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Colin Turner

Professor of Engineering Education

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F06A

+44 28 9036 6278

  c.turner@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mark Tweedie

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B04

+44 28 9036 6522

  m.tweedie@ulster.ac.uk

Dr James Uhomoibhi

Lecturer in Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

16C15

+44 28 9036 8976

  j.uhomoibhi@ulster.ac.uk