School of Computing, Engineering and Intelligent Systems

Here at the School of Computing, Engineering and Intelligent Systems we provide students with industrially relevant degrees that help them get ahead in their careers.

Our students are important to us which is why they are at the forefront of everything we do.



Our People

Dr Michaela Black

Senior Lecturer in Computing Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS127

+44 28 7167 5553

  mm.black@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jim Harkin

Head of the School of Computing, Engineering and Intelligent Systems

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS108

+44 28 7167 5128

  jg.harkin@ulster.ac.uk

Jorge Alvarez

Research Associate in Data Visualation

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  j.alvarez@ulster.ac.uk

Ryan Beveridge

Research Associate (iTEMiD project)

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  rp.beveridge@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Saugat Bhattacharyya

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS016A

+44 28 7167 5357

  s.bhattacharyya@ulster.ac.uk

Alain Desire Bigirimana

Research Associate in Brain-Computer Interface

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  ad.bigirimana@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Magda Bucholc

Lecturer in Data Analytics (George Moore Fellow)

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS138

+44 28 7167 5398

  m.bucholc@ulster.ac.uk

Michael Callaghan

Reader

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS132

+44 28 7167 5771

  mj.callaghan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Caitriona Carr

Technical Services Engineer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS030

+44 28 7167 5003

  c.carr@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Darryl Charles

Senior Lecturer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS135

+44 28 7167 5482

  dk.charles@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Priyanka Chaurasia

Lecturer in Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS223

+44 28 7167 5448

  p.chaurasia@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Sonya Coleman

Professor of Vision Systems

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS205

+44 28 7167 5030

  sa.coleman@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Joan Condell

Professor

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS131

+44 28 7167 5024

  j.condell@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Damien Coyle

Research Director - Computer Science and Informatics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS138

+44 28 7167 5170

  dh.coyle@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Kevin Curran

Professor of Cyber Security

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS130

+44 28 7167 5565

  kj.curran@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Xuemei Ding

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS217

+44 28 7167 5155

  x.ding@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Shirin Dora

Lecturer in Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS104

+44 28 7167 5254

  s.dora@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Naomi Du Bois

Research Associate in Neuroimaging Data Analysis

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  n.du-bois@ulster.ac.uk

Elaine Duffy

School Administrative Officer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS126

+44 28 7167 5420

  e.duffy@ulster.ac.uk

William Duffy

Research Associate - REAMIT

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  w.duffy@ulster.ac.uk

John Fegan

KTP Associate in Metro CCTV Surveillance Ltd

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  j.fegan@ulster.ac.uk

Louise Gallagher

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS111

+44 28 7167 5148

  l.gallagher@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Bryan Gardiner

Associate Head of the School of Computing, Engineering and Intelligent Systems

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS107

+44 28 7167 5081

  b.gardiner@ulster.ac.uk

James Gillespie

Research Associate in Wearable Technologies

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS125

+44 28 7167 5173

  j.gillespie1@ulster.ac.uk

Christopher Hasson

Technician - Robotics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  c.hasson@ulster.ac.uk

Gerald Hasson

Clerical Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS013

+44 28 7167 5382

  g.hasson@ulster.ac.uk

Rosaleen Hegarty

Teaching Fellow in Computing

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS223

+44 28 7167 5742

  r.hegarty@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Stephanie Hodge

Research Assistant in NeuroCONCISE Research Trials Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

W2034

+44 28 7012 3606

  s.hodge@ulster.ac.uk

Dominic Holmes

Research Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

+44 28 7167 5358

  d.holmes@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alok Joshi

Research Associate in Data Science and Computational Neuroscience

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS125

+44 28 7167 5127

  a.joshi@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Nik Kasabov

George Moore Professor of Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  nk.kasabov@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Daniel Kelly

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS133

+44 28 7167 5703

  d.kelly@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Scott Kelso

Professor of Computational Neuroscience

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  s.kelso@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Dermot Kerr

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS106

+44 28 7167 5330

  d.kerr@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Emmett Kerr

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS018A

+44 28 7167 5413

  ep.kerr@ulster.ac.uk

Attila Korik

Research Associate in EGG-based Brain-Computer Interfaces

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  a.korik@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Junxiu Liu

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS016A

+44 28 7167 5615

  j.liu1@ulster.ac.uk

Jailos Lubinda

Research Associate

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  j.lubinda@ulster.ac.uk

George Martin

Teaching Fellow in Computing

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

16C10

+44 28 9536 7162

  gs.martin@ulster.ac.uk

Niall McCarroll

Research Associate - Legal Language Identification Intelligence

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  n.mccarroll@ulster.ac.uk

Aiden McCaughey

Senior Lecturer in Computing Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS016B

+44 28 7167 5131

  a.mccaughey@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Karl McCreadie

Lecturer in Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS235

+44 28 7167 5192

  k.mccreadie@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Liam McDaid

Professor of Computational Neuroscience

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS129

+44 28 7167 5452

  lj.mcdaid@ulster.ac.uk

Neil McDonnell

Technical Services Engineer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS030

+44 28 7167 5360

  n.mcdonnell@ulster.ac.uk

Paddy McDonough

Technical Planning & Development Manager

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS034

+44 28 7167 5322

  p.mcdonough@ulster.ac.uk

Malachy McElholm

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS103

+44 28 7167 5189

  m.mcelholm@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Shaun McFadden

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS018B

+44 28 7167 5652

  s.mcfadden2@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Cormac McGarrigle

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MK208B

+44 28 7167 5046

  c.mcgarrigle1@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Martin McGinnity

Professor of Intelligent Systems

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS225

+44 28 7167 5417

  tm.mcginnity@ulster.ac.uk

Niall McShane

Research Associate in Clinical Analytics and Application Development (FOREUM Project)

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  n.mcshane@ulster.ac.uk

Lisa Moore

Clerical Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS013

+44 28 7167 5435

  l.moore@ulster.ac.uk

Cheryl Mullan

Support Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS126

+44 28 7167 5605

  c.mullan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Karla Munoz Esquivel

Research Associate in Anxiety Technologies

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS126

+44 28 7167 5996

  kc.munoz-esquivel@ulster.ac.uk

Mairin Nicell

Senior Lecturer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS018C

+44 28 7167 5700

  ma.nicell@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sagar Nikam

Research Associate in Simulation Models for Metal Laser Sintering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  s.nikam@ulster.ac.uk

Chris O'Connell

Acting Technical Services Engineer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS030

+44 28 7167 5824

  c.oconnell@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Nicholas Opiyo

Lecturer in Electrical Engineering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS235

+44 28 7167 5572

  n.opiyo@ulster.ac.uk

Mark Porter

Technician

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MK208B

+44 28 7167 5646

  m.porter@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Girijesh Prasad

Professor of Intelligent Systems

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS218

+44 28 7167 5645

  g.prasad@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Justin Quinn

Senior Lecturer and Director of the Centre for Engineering and Renewable Energy

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MK208C

+44 28 7167 5461

  jp.quinn@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Effirul Ramlan

Lecturer in Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MB125

+44 28 7167 5086

  e.ramlan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Debbie Rankin

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS138

+44 28 7167 5841

  d.rankin1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jose Sanchez Bornot

Research Software Engineer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  jm.sanchez-bornot@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Nazmul Siddique

Lecturer

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS137

+44 28 7167 5340

  nh.siddique@ulster.ac.uk

Michelle Stewart

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS013

+44 28 7167 5485

  m.stewart@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Liang Sun

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS017B

+44 28 7167 5647

  l.sun@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Philip Vance

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS134

+44 28 7167 5592

  p.vance@ulster.ac.uk

Dr John Wade

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS103

+44 28 7167 5205

  jj.wade@ulster.ac.uk

Richard Ward

Teaching Fellow in Mechanical Engineering

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MK104

+44 28 7167 5167

  r.ward@ulster.ac.uk

Benjamin Wingfield

Research Associate in Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5169

  b.wingfield@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Kongfatt Wong-Lin

Reader

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS136

+44 28 7167 5320

  k.wong-lin@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Hao Wu

Research Associate

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

  h.wu@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Pratheepan Yogarajah

Lecturer in Computer Science

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

MS017A

+44 28 7167 5034

  p.yogarajah@ulster.ac.uk