School of Engineering

The School of Engineering at Ulster University specialises in a broad multi-disciplinary approach to Engineering in order to solve industrial problems.



Our People

Filter School of Engineering staff by campus:

All campusesColeraineJordanstown

Dr Behzad Abdi

Research Associate - Development of numerical process simulationsfor additive manufacturing

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05D12

+44 28 9536 7357

b.abdi@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Acheson

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B14

+44 28 9036 8663

j.acheson@ulster.ac.uk

Bruno Alessi

Research Associate - Plasmas processes and Advanced materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

b.alessi@ulster.ac.uk

Salem Alkharabsheh

Marie Curie Fellow REWATERGY Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

s.alkharabsheh@ulster.ac.uk

Allison Allen

Clerical Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 8267

a.allen@ulster.ac.uk

Pearl Bartley

Support Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 6435

p.bartley@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Paul Beaney

Project Manager (ECME)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

26A27

+44 28 9036 8903

p.beaney@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Nikhil Bhalla

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B13

+44 28 9536 7145

n.bhalla@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Gourav Bhattacharya

Research Associate in Flexible Electronics

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

g.bhattacharya@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Santosh Bikkarolla

Research Associate in Microfluidic Device

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

sk.bikkarolla@ulster.ac.uk

Ann Blair

Project Officer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A01

+44 28 9036 8664

a.blair@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Antonio Bosnjak

Research Associate Bioengineering/Electronics

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

a.bosnjak@ulster.ac.uk

David Branagh

Centre Director - NI Connected Health Innovation Competence Centre

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9036 8291

d.branagh@ulster.ac.uk

Roy Brelsford

Technical Services Co-ordinator

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C31

+44 28 9036 6337

r.brelsford@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alan Brown

Lecturer in Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B12

+44 28 9036 8814

a.brown@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Ming-Wei Chang

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B14

+44 28 9536 7142

m.chang@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Adnan Ahmad Cheema

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B16

+44 28 9036 6364

a.cheema@ulster.ac.uk

Stuart Christy

Technical Services Engineer (Electronics & Computing)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C53

+44 28 9036 6325

s.christy@ulster.ac.uk

Maria Cortes

Project Engineer SAFEWATER Translate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

ma.cortes@ulster.ac.uk

Rachel Craig

Clerical Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F03

+44 28 9036 6275

r.craig@ulster.ac.uk

Graeme Craig

Technician (Workshop)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C04

+44 28 9036 8286

gp.craig@ulster.ac.uk

Patrick Cullen

Business Integration Manager

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9536 7306

p.cullen1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Thomas Dooher

Research Associate in Polymer Composites

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05D12

+44 28 9536 7460

t.dooher@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Omar Escalona

Professor & Director of the Advanced Cardiovascular Research Centre

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 6151

oj.escalona@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Amir Farokh Payam

Lecturer in Electronics and Software

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B15

+44 28 9036 6406

a.farokh-payam@ulster.ac.uk

Robert Finlay

Technician (Workshop)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C01

+44 28 9036 6213

rg.finlay@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Dewar Finlay

Research Director- Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Metallurgy and Materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B06

+44 28 9036 6586

d.finlay@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sam Fishlock

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B01

+44 28 9536 7344

s.fishlock@ulster.ac.uk

Jean Frazer

Support Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A01

+44 28 9536 7014

rj.frazer@ulster.ac.uk

Ane Galdos Balzategui

Research Associate (Health Impact Mexico)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

a.galdos-balzategui@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Abhijit Ganguly

Research Associate - Advanced oxide and carbon materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

a.ganguly@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Atefeh Golbang

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F11

+44 28 9536 7505

a.golbang@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Atta Haq

Research Associate - Emergent Nanomaterials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

22B05

+44 28 9036 8393

au.haq@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Eileen Harkin-Jones

Bombardier-Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Composites Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B04B

+44 28 9036 6012

e.harkin-jones@ulster.ac.uk

Catalina Herrera

Research Associate (Health Impact Colombia)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

c.herrera@ulster.ac.uk

Dawn Hetherington

Academic Excellence Executive Assistant

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F01

+44 28 9036 6036

d.hetherington@ulster.ac.uk

Simon Hodge

Technician (ECRE/NIACE)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C31

+44 28 9036 6216

sj.hodge@ulster.ac.uk

Ruth Holman

Acting School Officer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A01

+44 28 9036 6927

r.holman@ulster.ac.uk

Ryan Hunter

Project Engineer - AVX

School of Engineering

Coleraine

r.hunter1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Shahzad Hussain

Research Associate - Surface Science

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

s.hussain@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Swati Jindal

Research Associate - Design and Development of novel 3D printed Medical Devices and Implants

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05D12

+44 28 9536 7143

s.jindal@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Min Jing

Research Fellow in Artificial Intelligence, ECME

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9536 7326

m.jing@ulster.ac.uk

Anastasios Karakasidis

Research Assistant in Graphene Nanoflake Composites

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

a.karakasidis@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mohammad Karim

Research Associate - Engineering/Computer Science/Physicist

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

m.karim@ulster.ac.uk

Dr John Kelly

Technical Services Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C17

+44 28 9036 6933

j.kelly@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Colin Kelsey

Research Associate - Design Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

c.kelsey@ulster.ac.uk

Alan Kerr

Technician (General)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

H064B

+44 28 7012 4522

aj.kerr@ulster.ac.uk

Brian Kirch

Technician (Mechatronics)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C06

+44 28 9536 7280

b.kirch@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Helen Lubarsky

Research Associate - Water Treatment

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

h.lubarsky@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Gennady Lubarsky

CHIC Research Fellow (Electronic & Computing Engineering)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 8433

g.lubarsky@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Paul Maguire

Professor of Plasmas and Nanofabrication

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B13

+44 28 9036 8930

pd.maguire@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Elena Mancuso

Lecturer in Biomaterials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B12

+44 28 9036 6408

e.mancuso@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Davide Mariotti

Professor of Plasma Science & Nanoscale Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B09

+44 28 9036 6083

d.mariotti@ulster.ac.uk

Paul McCallum

Technician (Stores)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C03

+44 28 9036 6332

p.mccallum@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Paschal McCloskey

Sustainability and Engagement Manager

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B01

+44 28 9536 7502

p.mccloskey1@ulster.ac.uk

Conor McCurdy

KTP Associate - MOS Cleland Ltd

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

c.mccurdy@ulster.ac.uk

Damien McDonald

Technical Services Engineer (Electronics & Computing)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A05

+44 28 9036 8996

d.mcdonald@ulster.ac.uk

Ruairi McGlynn

Research Assistant in Carbon Nanotube Sensors

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

r.mcglynn@ulster.ac.uk

Caroline McGoran

Project Manager Translate (SAFEWATER)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B01

+44 28 9536 7413

c.mcgoran@ulster.ac.uk

Brian McGrath

Engineering Facilities Co-ordinator

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A16

+44 28 9036 8944

b.mcgrath@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mary Josephine McIvor

Research Associate in Cardiac Tissue Models

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

442890368859

mj.morton@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sara McNamee

Research Associate in Biosensing Technologies

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 8433

se.mcnamee@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Harold McQuaid

Research Associate - Plasmas & Microfabrication

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B04

+44 28 9036 6522

h.mcquaid@ulster.ac.uk

Patrick McShane

Technical Services Co-ordinator

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C53

+44 28 9036 6207

p.mcshane@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mozaffar Mokhtarimotamenishirvan

Research Associate - Processing and Characterisation

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

m.mokhtari@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Margaret Morgan

Associate Head of the School of Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B17

+44 28 9036 8211

m.morgan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Cesar Navarro-Paredes

Research Associate - Computing Scientist

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9036 8433

c.navarro@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mark Ng

Lecturer in Mechatronics Engineering and Control

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9036 6105

mark.ng@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Michael Nolan

Professor of Nanomaterials Modelling

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

m.nolan@ulster.ac.uk

Dilli Padmanaban

Research Associate- Plasmas processes and advanced materials

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

db.padmanaban@ulster.ac.uk

Peter Peacock

Technician (Electrical, Electronic & Control)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C35

+44 28 9036 6327

pw.peacock@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Natalia Pichel Mira

Project Engineer in Computing

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

n.pichel-mira@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Patrick Porter

Technical Planning & Development Manager

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F07

+44 28 9036 6328

p.porter@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Srinivasu Puttaswamy

Research Fellow - Microfluidic Engineer

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

s.puttaswamy@ulster.ac.uk

Susan Quinn

Research Associate - Healthcare Technology

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

16J25

+44 28 9036 8844

s.quinn1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Ardavan Rahimian

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F06

+44 28 9536 7336

a.rahimian@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Shasidran Raj

Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25A03

+44 28 9536 7374

s.raj@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Calvin Ralph

Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05B09

+44 28 9036 8762

c.ralph@ulster.ac.uk

Simon Reford

Technical Services Co-ordinator (Mechanical)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C29A

+44 28 9036 8285

s.reford@ulster.ac.uk

Adriana Rioja Cabanillas

Marie Curie Fellow REWATERGY - Research Associate

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

a.rioja-cabanillas@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Krzysztof Rodzen

Research Associate - Processing and Characterisation of Thermoplastic Polymers

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

kp.rodzen@ulster.ac.uk

Vanessa Ross

Project Manager - SAFEWATER

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B10

+44 28 7012 4067

v.ross1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Subha Sadhu

Research Associate – Advanced Photovoltaics

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

Dr Bogaraju Sharatchandra Varma

Lecturer in Electronic Engineering and Embedded Systems

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

25B05

+44 28 9036 6190

s.bogaraju@ulster.ac.uk

Preetam Sharma

Research Associate in Vitro Cell Tissue Model

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

pk.sharma@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Kerry-Louise Skillen

Research Associate in Artificial Intelligence, ECME

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

+44 28 9036 8394

k.skillen@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Navneet Soin

Lecturer in Healthcare Electronics

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

05F08

+44 28 9536 7387

n.soin@ulster.ac.uk

Stewart Stinson

Technician (Electrical Machines)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C53

+44 28 9536 7242

s.stinson@ulster.ac.uk

Danny Strutt

Technician (Research Materials & Testing)

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

06C17

+44 28 9536 7616

d.strutt@ulster.ac.uk

Alvaro Tolosana

Research Associate PANIWATER

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

a.tolosana@ulster.ac.uk

Joanna Ward

Research Associate - Bioactive Coating of Magnesium Alloys

School of Engineering

Jordanstown

j.ward1@ulster.ac.uk