Built Environment Research Institute staff

Meet the staff, PhD students, visiting professors and researchers involved in our research.


Our People

Professor Faris Ali

Professor of Structural Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B02

+44 28 9036 8302

f.ali@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Neale Blair

Associate Head of the Belfast School of Architecture and Built Environment

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04D11

+44 28 9536 5705

n.blair@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Karen Boyce

Senior Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B07

+44 28 9536 5721

ke.boyce@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Caterina Brandoni

Senior Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5971

c.brandoni@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sile Brennan

Reader

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B04

+44 28 9536 5191

sl.brennan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Seng-Kwan Choi

Reader

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B12

+44 28 9536 5203

s.choi@ulster.ac.uk

Donatella Cirrone

Research Associate in Safety Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B16

+44 28 9536 5085

d.cirrone@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Paul Clarke

Professor of Architectural Design

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Belfast

BA-02-024

+44 28 9536 7225

pg.clarke@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Shane Colclough

Research Fellow

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5093

s.colclough@ulster.ac.uk

David Coyles

Senior Lecturer in Architecture

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Belfast

BA-02-024

+44 28 9536 7436

d.coyles@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Peadar Davis

Senior Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B08A

+44 28 9536 5210

pt.davis@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Karen Davison

Lecturer in Building Technology and Materials

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04F13

+44 28 9536 5213

k.davison@ulster.ac.uk

Lindesay Dawe

Lecturer in Architectural Technology

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

06C39E

+44 28 9536 5214

l.dawe@ulster.ac.uk

Steven Devlin

Faculty Grant Development Manager

Research Development

Belfast

BD-04-005

+44 28 9536 5129

s.devlin@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Robert Eadie

Senior Lecturer in Construction Management

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B15

+44 28 9536 5218

r.eadie@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Saul Golden

Senior Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Belfast

06C39

+44 28 9536 7453

s.golden@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Philip Griffiths

Professor of Building Physics

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04F11

+44 28 9536 5226

p.griffiths@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Martin Haran

Professor of Real Estate and Urban Studies

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

01H09

+44 28 9536 5231

m.haran@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Neil Hewitt

Head of Belfast School of Architecture & the Built Environment

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04D09

+44 28 9536 5239

nj.hewitt@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Martin Hinch

Data Development & Enhancement Analyst (Equity & Participation)

Bi & Strategic Planning & Performance

Coleraine

G228

+44 28 7012 4610

m.hinch@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Ye Huang

Professor

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5242

y.huang@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Trevor Hyde

Reader

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04D13

+44 28 9536 5244

t.hyde@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sergii Kashkarov

Lecturer in Hydrogen Safety

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B16

+44 28 9536 5667

s.kashkarov@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Patrick Keatley

Lecturer in Energy Policy and Infrastructure

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5246

p.keatley@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Khoa Le

Research Associate in Renewable Energy Systems for Buildings

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

k.le@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jasmine Lay-Cheng Lim

Senior Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04D14

+44 28 9536 5253

lc.lim@ulster.ac.uk

Sean Mac Intyre

Senior Lecturer in Environmental Health

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04F20

+44 28 9536 5260

s.macintyre@ulster.ac.uk

Ciaran Mackel

Senior Lecturer in Architecture

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Belfast

BA-02-024

+44 28 9536 7441

c.mackel@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Bryan Magee

Senior Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B09

+44 28 9536 5261

b.magee@ulster.ac.uk

Clare Mahon

Lecturer in Building/Construction Technology

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B13

+44 28 9536 5263

c.mahon@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Dmitriy Makarov

Reader in Hydrogen Production and Storage

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B06

+44 28 9036 8750

dv.makarov@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Nigel McConnell

Lecturer in Human Behaviour in Fire

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B08

+44 28 9036 6646

nc.mcconnell@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Rodney McDermott

Lecturer in Civil & Environmental Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B11

+44 28 9536 5280

r.mcdermott@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Linda McElduff

Lecturer in Planning

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B06

+44 28 9536 5282

l.mcelduff@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Phillip Millar

Lecturer in Civil Engineering: Land Surveying & GIS

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04F17

+44 28 9536 5294

p.millar@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Vladimir Molkov

Professor of Fire Safety Science

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B01

+44 28 9036 8731

v.molkov@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jayanta Mondol

Research Director - Architecture, Built Environment & Planning

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B03

+44 28 9536 5295

jd.mondol@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Martina Murphy

Associate Head of School

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Belfast

BA-02-026

+44 28 9536 7058

m.murphy@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Ali Nadjai

Professor of Fire Structural Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B09

+44 28 9036 8294

a.nadjai@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Adrian Pugsley

Research Fellow - Community Energy from Solar Envelope Architecture

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5886

a.pugsley@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Gavan Rafferty

Lecturer in Spatial Planning and Development

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B06

+44 28 9536 5309

g.rafferty1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Heather Ritchie

Lecturer in Spatial Planning and Energy Policy

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B06

+44 28 9536 5312

h.ritchie@ulster.ac.uk

Angela Rolfe

Lecturer in Energy Systems Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5909

a.rolfe@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Nikhilkumar Shah

Lecturer

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B23

+44 28 9536 5321

n.shah@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Volodymyr Shentsov

Lecturer in Hydrogen Safety

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27B16

+44 28 9036 6368

v.shentsov@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mervyn Smyth

Reader

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5327

m.smyth1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Brian Solan

Lecturer in Foundation Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04B08B

+44 28 9536 5329

b.solan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Svetlana Tretsiakova-Mcnally

Lecturer in the Built Environment (Chemistry)

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27A06B

+44 28 9036 6286

s.tretsiakova-mcnally@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Inna Vorushylo

Lecturer in Energy Markets and Energy Storage

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5338

i.vorushylo@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Christopher Wilson

Research Associate in Thermal Energy Systems

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

26B16

+44 28 9536 5986

c.wilson@ulster.ac.uk

Dr David Woodward

Reader in Infrastructure Engineering

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

04F09

+44 28 9536 5344

wdh.woodward@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Jianping Zhang

Reader

Belfast School of Architecture & the Be

Jordanstown

27A10

+44 28 9036 6460

j.zhang@ulster.ac.uk