People: Biomedical Sciences Research

Meet our team.


Members involved with Biomedical Sciences Research.

Our People

Dr Philip Allsopp

Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2067

+44 28 7012 3125

pj.allsopp@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Atkinson

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Vision)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5664

s.atkinson@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Ibrahim Banat

Professor of Microbial Biotechnology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0068

+44 28 7012 3062

im.banat@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Raymond Beirne

Lecturer in Optometry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G161

+44 28 7012 4477

r.beirne@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Karen Breslin

Lecturer in Optometry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G170

+44 28 7012 4235

kmm.breslin@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Kathryn Burnett

Professor of Pharmacy Education

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y144

+44 28 7012 3283

k.burnett@ulster.ac.uk

Aoife Caffrey

Research Associate in Nutrition and Ageing Brain (VALID Project)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2028

+44 28 7012 3401

a.caffrey@ulster.ac.uk

Professor John Callan

The Norbrook Chair in Pharmaceutical Science

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y140

+44 28 7012 3059

j.callan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Valeria Cenini

Research Associate in Bioimaging

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0044

+44 28 7012 3074

v.cenini@ulster.ac.uk

Arnold Cochrane

Lecturer in Optometry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G154

+44 28 7012 3034

ajs.cochrane@ulster.ac.uk

Pauline Douglas

Senior Lecturer/Clinical Dietetics Facilitator

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2072

+44 28 7012 3179

pl.douglas@ulster.ac.uk

Lesley Doyle

Research Associate in Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G168

+44 28 7012 3995

la.doyle@ulster.ac.uk

Dr William Duddy

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Bioinformatics)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5686

w.duddy@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Stephanie Duguez

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Musculoskeletal Health)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5687

s.duguez@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Andrew English

Research Associate in Biomarkers for Personalised Medicines

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5890

a.english@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Peter Flatt

Research Director- Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1069

+44 28 7012 4419

pr.flatt@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Alison Gallagher

Head of the Doctoral College (Coleraine/Magee)

Ulster University Doctoral College

Coleraine

MC127

+44 28 7012 3178

am.gallagher@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Victor Gault

Associate Dean (Research and Impact)

Dean's Office (Life & Health Scs)

Coleraine

H153

+44 28 7012 3322

va.gault@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Chris Gill

Senior Lecturer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2095

+44 28 7012 3181

c.gill@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Susan Hawthorne

Lecturer in Pharmaceutical Biosciences

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y139

+44 28 7012 3101

s.hawthorne@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alyson Hill

Senior Lecturer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2071

+44 28 7012 4128

aj.hill@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Leane Hoey

Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2044

+44 28 7012 4781

l.hoey@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Hughes

Lecturer in Public Health Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2032

+44 28 7012 3516

c.hughes@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Rachelle Irwin

Lecturer in Genomic Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1039

+44 28 7012 4674

r.irwin@ulster.ac.uk

Iain Jack

Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacy

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y139

+44 28 7012 3993

i.jack@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sukanta Kamila

Research Associate

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y028

+44 28 7012 4336

s.kamila@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Maeve Kerr

Lecturer in Food Regulatory Affairs

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2030

+44 28 7012 3515

ma.kerr@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mohammed Khan

Research Associate –Biomarkers (Personalised Medicine for Glaucoma)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

mn.khan@ulster.ac.uk

Dawood Khan

Research Associate in Diabetes

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7012 3714

d.khan@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Julie-Anne Little

Associate Research Director - School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G159

+44 28 7012 4374

ja.little@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Caomhan Logue

Lecturer in Dietetics

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2064

+44 28 7012 4451

c.logue@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Colm Lowery

Lecturer in Medical Microbiology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

J101

+44 28 7012 3528

cj.lowery@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Deborah Lowry

Lecturer in Pharamceutical Sciences

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y138

+44 28 7012 4284

d.lowry@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Seodhna Lynch

Research Associate - Biomarkers

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

s.lynch1@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Pamela Magee

Senior Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2048

+44 28 7012 4360

pj.magee@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Manktelow

Research Associate (HealthCare Process Engineer)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5221

m.manktelow@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Kyle Matchett

Lecturer in Molecular Immunology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5274

k.matchett@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Roisin McAllister

Research Associate in Personalised Medicine (Molecular Biology/Clinical)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5318

rm.mcallister@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Liadhan McAnena

Regulatory Research Officer

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2034

+44 28 7012 3398

l.mcanena@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mary McCann

Faculty Partnership Manager (Life & Health Sciences)

Dean's Office (Life & Health Scs)

Jordanstown

W2036

+44 28 7012 3969

mt.mccann@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Paul McCarron

Head of School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y146

+44 28 7012 3285

p.mccarron@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Stephen McClean

Head of School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1104

+44 28 7012 4406

s.mcclean@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Paula McClean

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Diabetes and Mental Health)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5675

pl.mcclean@ulster.ac.uk

Emma McConnell

Research Associate in Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G168

+44 28 7012 3650

e.mcconnell@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Victoria McGilligan

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Inflammatory Disease)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5673

v.mcgilligan@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Anthony McHale

Professor of Medical Biotechnology

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y141

+44 28 7012 4616

ap.mchale@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Declan McKenna

Associate Head of School of Biomedical Sciences

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1043

+44 28 7012 4356

dj.mckenna@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Helene McNulty

Professor of Nutritional Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2097

+44 28 7012 4583

h.mcnulty@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Emeir McSorley

Senior Lecturer in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2046

+44 28 7012 3543

em.mcsorley@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Charlotte Moffett

Lecturer in Pharmacology and Molecular Pathology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1068

+44 28 7012 4313

cr.moffett@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Tara Moore

Professor of Personalised Medicine

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0056

+44 28 7012 4577

tara.moore@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Maria Mulhern

Lecturer in Food Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2026

+44 28 7012 3539

m.mulhern@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Elaine Murray

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Mental Health)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5667

e.murray@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Nesbit

Senior Lecturer in Molecular Biology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1088

+44 28 7012 4957

a.nesbit@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Heather Nesbitt

Research Associate in Tumour Biology

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

W1037

+44 28 7012 4606

h.nesbitt@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Tony Ng

Technician (Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences)

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y045

+44 28 7012 3372

t.ng@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Finbarr O'Harte

Professor of Endocrinology & Metabolism

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W1085

+44 28 7012 4853

fpm.oharte@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Kirsty Pourshahidi

Teaching Fellow in Food Science and Technology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2047

+44 28 7012 4030

k.pourshahidi@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Ruth Price

Clinical Trials Manager

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W3016B

+44 28 7012 3878

rk.price@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Taranjit Singh Rai

Lecturer in Cellular Ageing

School of Biomedical Sciences

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5459

t.rai@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Sumantra Ray

Professor of Global Nutrition (Health and Disease)

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

s.ray@ulster.ac.uk

Patrick Richardson

Lecturer Optometry Clinic Manager

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G092A

+44 28 7012 4739

p.richardson@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Kathryn Saunders

Professor of Optometry and Vision Science

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

G151

+44 28 7012 4433

kj.saunders@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Priyank Shukla

Lecturer in Stratified Medicine (Bioinformatics)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5690

p.shukla@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Poonam Singh - Nee Nigam

Senior Lecturer in Biotechnology

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0074

+44 28 7012 4053

p.singh@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mary Slevin

Research Associate in Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2066

+44 28 7012 3041

mm.slevin@ulster.ac.uk

Keith Thomas

Scientific Assistant

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0090

+44 28 7012 3883

kg.thomas@ulster.ac.uk

Prof David Thurnham

Emeritus Professor Of Human Nutrition

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2096

+44 28 7012 3039

di.thurnham@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Matthew Twigg

Research Associate - Sophorolipids and Tumour Models

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W0079

+44 28 7012 3097

m.twigg@ulster.ac.uk

Professor Mary Ward

Professor of Nutrition and Dietetics

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2016

+44 28 7012 3076

mw.ward@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Steven Watterson

Lecturer in Computational Biology (Hypertension)

School of Biomedical Sciences

+44 28 7167 5665

s.watterson@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Mateus Webba Da Silva

Reader of Pharmaceutical Chemistry

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y148

+44 28 7012 4009

mm.webba-da-silva@ulster.ac.uk

Bronagh White

Lecturer in Clinical & Pharmacy Practice

School of Pharm. & Pharmaceut. Sc.

Coleraine

Y142

+44 28 7012 4135

bc.white@ulster.ac.uk

Benjamin Wingfield

Research Associate in Data Analytics

School of Computing, Eng & Intel. Sys

Magee

C-TRIC

+44 28 7167 5169

b.wingfield@ulster.ac.uk

Dr Alison Yeates

Research Fellow in Nutritional Biochemistry

School of Biomedical Sciences

Coleraine

W2047

+44 28 7012 3147

a.yeates@ulster.ac.uk