The latest version of Microsoft Office is available to download for current students, free of charge. You can run Office on up to five desktop Mac or Windows. You can also run Office Mobile on up to 5 mobile devices (on supported mobile operating systems).
More information is available via this link: Office 365 Education (includes online training material).
Before you Download
- You need to know you university email address and network password to authenticate yourself as a genuine Ulster University student.
- If you have already got a version of Office on your device (such as a pre-installed trial version), Digital Services recommend that you remove it before downloading this new version.
- If installing on a desktop operating system, you must have Windows 10 or Mac OS X 10.12 or later. We recommend you install all available operating system updates in advance.
- If you are installing Office to Windows 10, check if you have a 32-bit or 64-bit version. Please see the following guidance from Microsoft on how to establish your Windows version https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/help/13443/windows-which-operating-system
Note for Windows Desktop Users: The 32-bit installer can be installed on both 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows.
If you have 64-bit Windows then you may prefer to download the 64-bit version, you can do this by clicking Advanced then changing the dropdown list to 64-bit, before clicking Install. Please do not attempt to install the 64-bit Office version on a 32-bit Windows.
How to Download and Install
How to activate after Download
If prompted for a product key or to sign in after you've installed Office, click Sign in to an existing Office 365 subscription and use your Ulster University email address and network password.
This will fully activate the downloaded application. Failure to activate correctly will restrict the application to read-only.
After you leave Ulster University
After you leave and your Portal access is withdrawn, the Office applications will enter a state of reduced ‘read only’ functionality.
You can either choose to continue in read-only state, or purchase a personal license to regain full functionality, or remove the software entirely.