Page content

£1000 Scholarship For Step-Up Students

26 January 2011

Four University of Ulster Step-Up students have each been awarded £1,000 scholarships from vehicle leasing specialists CVC Direct of Belfast.

Clinical Physiology student Jonathan Albert (formerly of Orangefield High School), Biomedical Sciences student Martin McCann (formerly of Corpus Christi College), Sports Technology student Liam O’Reilly (formerly of Christian Brothers Secondary School) and Sports Studies student David Richardson (formerly of St Patrick’s College, Bearnagheeha) were the deserving recipients. They overcame stiff competition to scoop the four £1,000 awards by outlining how the funding would enhance their education.

First year students who graduated from the University’s innovative Step-Up programme in August 2010 were invited to apply for the scholarships. A scholarship committee, comprised of representatives from the University, Step-Up schools and industrial partners, then selected the top four entries.    

Winston Stewart from CVC Direct said: “We are pleased to once again provide scholarships to support these four talented Step-Up students. We hope that the funding will improve their educational experience at the University of Ulster and beyond.”

Dr Damian O’Kane, Head of Access and Educational Partnerships at Ulster said: “We are extremely grateful to CVC for showing their continued support for the Step-Up programme through the generous provision of these four scholarships. The funding will increase the students’ chances for successful achievement at the University during these challenging economic times.”
The Step-Up Programme, based in the North-West and in the greater Belfast area, is a unique and innovative interventionist programme which provides new learning opportunities in science for talented young people who live in areas of social and economic disadvantage and is supported by the Department for Employment and Learning


L-R: Dr Damian O’Kane (Head of Access and Educational Partnerships), Martin McCann, Jonathan Albert, Liam O’Reilly, David Richardson, Winston Stewart (CVC Direct).