Page content

University of Ulster To Honour Policing Leaders

28 January 2010

Sir Hugh Orde and Professor Sir Desmond Rea head the list of distinguished figures from the worlds of culture, science, business and public life who will receive honours from the University of Ulster at its graduation ceremonies this summer.

The top policeman, who led the transition from the RUC to the PSNI will share the Waterfront stage with the former University of Ulster academic who chaired the Policing Board from its inception until spring 2009.  Both will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Laws ( LLD).

The graduation ceremonies at the Magee campus in Londonderry will see honours conferred on former Undertone singer Feargal Sharkey, community leader Paddy Doherty (familiarly known as ‘Paddy Bogside’) and Pat Hume, wife of Nobel Laureate Professor John Hume, in recognition of her service to the community.

Mr Sharkey, who is now CEO of UK Music, an umbrella organisation which represents the collective interests of the UK's commercial music industry will receive the degree of Doctor of Letters ( DLitt); Mr Doherty and Mrs Hume will receive the degree of Doctor of Laws (LLD) .

Writer Colin Bateman, will receive the degree of Doctor of Letters (DLitt). He has published many comic novels over his career, most recently ‘Day of the Jack Russell.’

Former Northern Ireland Office Minister Sir Richard Needham,will receive the degree of Doctor of Laws (LLD), as will legal expert Denis Moloney .

From the worlds of business and science come John Crosslé, founder of the Crosslé Car Company in Holywood., Co  Down; Denis Rooney, Chairman of the International Fund for Ireland, and David Kirk , Belfast-born Silicon Valley IT entrepreneur. All three will receive the honorary degree of Doctor of Science (DSc).

Professor Richard Barnett, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ulster, said:

“ The University is delighted to be able to honour the achievements of these distinguished individuals, who have all made an outstanding contribution to  society through their commitment to excellence in their chosen fields of endeavour.

“We look forward to welcoming them – and their fellow graduands – to our graduation ceremonies this summer.”


Notes for Editors

Honorary Graduand        Degree

Colin Bateman                    DLitt
John Crosslé                       DSc
Paddy Doherty                   LLD
Pat Hume                            LLD
David Kirk                           DSc
Denis Moloney                   LLD
Sir Richard Needham        LLD
Sir Hugh Orde                    LLD
Sir Des Rea                          LLD
Denis Rooney                     DSc
Fergal Sharkey                    DLitt