REF sub-panel chairs announced

The 34 sub-panel chairs for the next Research Excellence Framework have been confirmed. Three of these are leading Ulster academics: Professor Hugh McKenna, Professor Marie Murphy and Dr Susan Hodgett.

   13 October 2020

The four UK Higher Education Funding Bodies have announced the appointment of the chairs of the 34 sub-panels for the Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2021. The chairs have been appointed following an open application process.

The key role of each sub-panel chair is to lead their sub-paneI in developing criteria for the assessment and in consistently applying assessment standards. The chair will also play a key role in engaging with the UK higher education sector on the REF.

A full list of the sub-panel chairs for each of the 34 sub-panel areas is available at