Eligibility criteria

The remit of the AHRC CDT in Celtic Languages is taken to include support of doctoral research within the following fields and sub-fields:

Topics relating to Celtic languages, literatures, and cultures, Modern, Medieval and Ancient, that is:

  • Medieval Celtic languages and literatures include Old and Middle Irish / Old and Middle Gaelic, Middle Welsh, Old and Middle Breton, Old and Middle Cornish, and Pictish
  • Modern Celtic languages include Irish, Scottish Gaelic, Manx, Welsh, Breton, and Cornish
  • Ancient Celtic languages include British, Gaulish, Hispano-Celtic and others
  • Topics in any sub-field of Celtic studies directly relating to Celtic languages, literatures and cultures are also eligible, including but not limited to: history, sociolinguistics, education and language policy, place-names, song, traditional narrative and custom and belief
  • Other topics, for instance, in History, will be considered, but must have a substantial Celtic language / literature component or perspective (applicants are advised to contact the Director for eligibility)
  • Comparative proposals with other languages, literatures and cultures will be considered, but must be centred on / predominantly on the Celtic side (applicants are advised to contact the Director for eligibility), and be capable of being supervised from within one of the Celtic language units at the CDT’s constituent HEIs

Proposals in areas related to Celtic Studies, but without a primary focus on Celtic languages and literatures (for instance, topics on the history of Ireland, or on the post-conflict linguistic practices in Northern Ireland), will usually best be made to the appropriate Ulster Doctoral College thematic area in the field of Modern Languages and Linguistics.

In order to be considered for AHRC studentships from the CDT in Celtic Languages applicants must be nominated by Ulster, who will serve as the ‘host HEI’. Following their nomination for the CDT Celtic AHRC studentship competition, the candidate will hold a conditional offer of a place on a PhD Programme at Ulster.

Applicants will normally hold a postgraduate Masters qualification by the time they begin their doctoral study. Studentships are available for full-time and part-time study. Students who have completed their first year of doctoral study, or part-time equivalent, are eligible to apply for a studentship for the remainder of their registered period of study. Students who are ‘writing up/thesis pending’ are not eligible to apply.

In line with AHRC regulations, in order to be eligible for a studentship, a student must also meet certain conditions relating to residence: applicants must be ordinarily resident in the UK (for reasons other than education), or ordinarily resident in a member state of the EU. Students from EU countries other than the UK are generally eligible for awards restricted to the payment of tuition fees only but do not qualify for maintenance awards. Full details of residency can be found in the RCUK’s Conditions of Research Council Training Grants. Students are advised to read these details carefully and, if there is any doubt as to eligibility, they should discuss this with the HEI’s Graduate School or point of contact.

IMPORTANT NOTE: As things currently stand, EU students are eligible to apply for fees-only support for an award beginning in October 2018. At the time of writing (late September 2016) the RCUK’s formal position is that ‘Future funding arrangements for EU students will be determined as part of the UK’s discussions on its future relationship.’ We will publish any additional information as soon as we receive it.