Deaths and Obituaries

Deaths and obituaries of graduates, honorary graduates, staff and friends of the University.

With sadness, Ulster University records the deaths of the following graduates, honorary graduates, staff and friends.

The Development & Alumni Relations Office records the names of the deceased, where the Office has been notified/been made aware of the person’s death by a verifiable source. The Development & Alumni Relations Office is not responsible for the content of external websites linked to from this page.

Please send death notifications

  • Class of 2010 - 2020
    Brendan DohertyMSc Computational Intelligence, 2017, Magee
    PG Cert Further and Higher Education, 2007, Magee
    MSc Telecommunications and Distributed Systems, 2003, Coleraine
    BENG DIS Electronics and Computing, 2002, Magee
    dec. 21 February 2020
    Julie Lewis (nee Maxwell)MPA Public Administration 2012, Jordanstowndec. 25 August 2019
    Thomas O'BoyleBA Hons History with Education 2015, Colerainedec. 18 March 2020
  • Class of 2000 - 2009
    Gerry BurnsHonorary Graduate, Doctor of Laws, 2009dec. February 2020
    Harry GreggHonorary Graduate, Doctor of the University, 2008dec. 21 February 2020
    Ted LeathMSc Computing and Design, 2000, Mageedec. 9 September 2019
    Dr David SouthallPhD Life and Health Sciences, 2013dec. 15 October 2019
  • Class of 1990 - 1999
    Stephen Clements BSc Hons Geography with DAS,1995, Colerainedec. 7 January 2020
    Norman DicksonMSc Education Management, 1994, Jordanstowndec. 14 November 2019
    Damien Doyle MA Fine Art ,1994, Belfastdec. 2010
    Dr Brendan HegartyHonorary Graduate. Doctor of Science, 1996dec. 25 September 2019
    David Howden Hume Modern and Contemporary History, 1990, Colerainedec. 13 September 2019
    Dr Jill McIvor Honorary Graduate, Doctor of the University, 1997dec. 14 January 2020
    Bishop James MehaffeyHonorary Graduate, Doctor of Letters, 1999dec. 7 January 2020
    Patricia MoorePG Cert Guidance and Counselling,1996, Mageedec. 15 January 2020
    Dr Angeline Gabriel Smith MRes Science, 1998, Colerainedec. 12 August 2019
    Robert SpenceMBA, 1991, Jordanstowndec. 17 April 2020
    Sir Peter Swinnerton-DyerHonorary Graduate, Doctor of Science,1991 dec. 14 January 2020
  • Class of 1980 - 1989
    Aidan LanganMBA International Business, 1988, Jordanstowndec. 12 March 2020
    Margaret Treon

    PG Cert Computer Science Education, 1986, Jordanstown

    dec. 2018
  • Class of 1970 - 1979
    Bill DoughertyMA, 1973, Colerainedec. December 2019
    Michael DonnellyBA Fine Art, 1979, Belfastdec. September 2019
    John LeslieMSc, 1973, Colerainedec. December 2019
  • Staff and friends of the University
    Professor Tony BarehamStaff member, School of Arts and Humanitiesdec. 19 December 2020
    Mrs Hilary BracefieldStaff member, School of Creative Arts and Technologiesdec. 22 April 2020
    Wesley BellStaff member, School of Computingdec. 28 November 2019
    Simon MorganStaff member, Finance Departmentdec. 19 December 2019
    Professor Peter Morton-WilliamsFormer Pro-Vice-Chancellordec. May 2018
    Professor Aidan O’ReillyFormer Provost (Coleraine) and Former Dean of the Ulster University Business Schooldec. September 2019
    Professor Elaine ThomasFormer Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciencesdec. January 2019