Skip to navigation Skip to content

Submit your nomination for the John Re Scott postgraduate award

2016 winner: Alan Kennedy

Alan Kennedy obtained his BSc Biomedical Engineering from Ulster University in 2014. He continued his studies at the University with a DEL funded PhD studentship under the supervision of Professor James McLaughlin and Dr Dewar Finlay.

Alan's work focuses on early detection of atrial fibrillation (AF). AF is the most common cardiac arrhythmia today affecting approximately 2% of the general population and is a leading cause of stroke. Alan's PhD research has garnered much attention resulting in recognition by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), as the recipient of the IET Postgraduate Scholarship for an outstanding researcher in 2015. The IET Postgraduate Scholarship for an outstanding researcher is open to doctoral researchers undertaking reasearch in any country. It has a value of £10,000 and a tenure of one year. He was also chosen as the recipient of the Heath Informatics Society of Ireland 2014 research bursary. This award is open to all students within Ireland studying in the area of health informatics.

During his PhD studies, Alan has spent time with leading academics as a visiting scholar at the University of Massachusetts Lowell; Institut National des Sciences Appliquées, Lyon, France; and the University of California, San Francisco. To date, Alan has had seven journal articles published in well-respected journals in the field of biomedical engineering.

He is now working as a Research Associate as part of the Healthcare Sensor Systems Group at the Nanotechnology and integrated Biomedical Engineering Centre and is nearing the completion of his PhD.

Previous winners

2015David Courtney
2014Vahab Youssofzadeh
2013Somak Mitra
2012Bill Tormey


John Re Scott postgraduate award criteria.