Background to the University

Ulster University was established by Royal Charter in 1984.

Although a relatively young university, we can trace our origins back to the middle of the nineteenth century when the Belfast School of Design (1849) and Magee College (1865) were established. Today the University has four campuses- in Belfast, Jordanstown, Coleraine and Derry~Londonderry.

Ulster University is at the heart of Northern Ireland.  Four distinct campuses offer a student experience that equips our graduates with the skills, knowledge, confidence and connections to achieve their career ambitions.  The impact and influence of our students, graduates, alumni and employees is felt both locally and globally – shaping futures for individuals, sectors, and communities alike.

We offer an extensive range of courses both at Undergraduate and Postgraduate level and by full-time and part-time study. With over 25,000 students we are one of the larger universities in the UK and the largest on the island of Ireland.

Leading in the provision of Professional Education for professional life

Universities vary in the emphasis that they place on aspects of course provision.

At Ulster University our focus is on applied courses which prepare our students with the knowledge, skills and confidence to take up challenging jobs.

With this in mind many of our courses include a work placement and wherever possible we align our course content to the requirements of the professional bodies.

This means that many of our students graduate with both an academic award and membership of a professional body (or with substantial exemptions from the examination requirements of a professional body).

We refer to this as offering coterminus awards.

For those with the aptitude, ability and desire, our courses also prepare our students to progress to advanced study or research.